Former Aldridge Group Members – Doctoral Students

Dr Richard Calder (Cardiff, 2002). Rich was the first PhD student to graduate from the group and got the transition metal boryl project started with some work on iron and manganese complexes. Some of his work in the area can be found here.

Dr Deborah Kays, née Coombs (Cardiff, 2003). Debs was instrumental in getting the <u>borylene project</u> going, synthesizing the first example of a cationic system. She is now <u>Professor of Chemistry at Nottingham University</u>, winner of the <u>RSC's Chemistry of the Transition Metals Award for 2018</u> and a budding film star on <u>YouTube</u>.

Dr Andrea Rossin (Cardiff, 2004) worked on a joint <u>experimental/theoretical</u> project and after a PDRA with <u>Agusti Lledos</u> now works at the <u>ICCOM-CNR in Florence</u> on hydrogen storage.

Dr Amal Al-Fawaz (Cardiff, 2004) came from Saudi Arabia, where she returned to take up a <u>faculty</u> <u>position at King Saud University</u> where she is currently assistant professor. Her work in the group concerned <u>perfluoroarylboryl systems</u>.

Dr Chris Bresner (Cardiff, 2005). Chris was one of the longest serving members of the group (7 years) and is now Research ad Development manager at <u>Purolite International</u>. His sterling efforts (<u>here</u>) got the sensor project off the ground – work which forms the basis for patented and commercially exploited sensor technology.

Dr Natalie Bunn (Cardiff, 2005). Natalie started her PhD in 2002 after completing her final year undergraduate project with us. She started the **gallium-based ligands project** and now teaches in Australia.

Dr Rebecca Baghurst (Cardiff, 2005) worked on a Synetix (latterly Johnson Matthey) sponsored project on transition metal complex synthesis and catalysis. Some of her work can be found <a href="https://example.com/here-example

Dr Joanna Day (Cardiff, 2008). Jo worked in both Cardiff and Oxford on Lewis acids/sensors, graduating in May 2008. Some of her work featured on the cover of *Inorganic Chemistry*.

Dr Natalie Coombs (Cardiff, 2008) was the last of the group to submit her thesis in Cardiff (Sept 2008), having worked for a year in Oxford after the move. Aspects of her <u>work</u> were the basis of a highlight article in <u>Angewandte Chemie</u>.

Dr Glesni Pierce (Oxford, 2009) joined the group in January 2006, initially in Cardiff, before transferring to Oxford. She worked on the **chemistry of terminal borylene complexes**, and now works in technology transfer at Cardiff University.

Dr Alex Broomsgrove (Oxford, 2010). Alex obtained his MChem degree from Cardiff University before joining the group on its move to Oxford in January 2007. Alex's project focused on <u>ferrocene based sensors</u> for cyanide and fluoride, and he graduated in late 2010. He is now a <u>senior manager at the EPSRC</u>.

Dr Hassanatu Mansaray (Oxford, 2011) joined the group in Sept 2007 and worked on highly sterically demanding N-donor ligands. Part of her work was published in <u>Chem.-Eur. J.</u> and in <u>Chem. Commun</u>. Hassaine left the group to work for the African Development Bank.

Victoria Chislett. Vicky graduated in 2006 from Cardiff University. Following a year in corporate finance, she rejoined the world of chemistry, undertaking a project in collaboration with the EPSRC National Mass Spectrometry Facility. She is currently working as a chemistry teacher.

Dr David Addy (Oxford, 2012) was the first Oxford undergraduate to join the group, migrating from St Peter's to Queen's and undertaking a project in **borane** and **borylene** coordination chemistry. Dave now manages a technical team working for Johnson Matthey at Royston near Cambridge.

Dr Ian Riddlestone (Oxford, 2013) joined the group from Newcastle University and worked on a BP-sponsored project on aluminium chemistry. Some of his work can be found here. Subsequently Ian took up a PDRA position with Mike Whittlesey in Bath. He was subsequently successful in obtaining a fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung to work with Ingo Krossing in Freiburg and then in obtaining a faculty position in chemistry at the University of Surrey.

Dr Nick Phillips (Oxford, 2014) carried out his DPhil in the group after completing his Part 2 with us, and worked on N-heterocyclic carbene chemistry for the stabilization of unsaturated **Group 9** and **Group 11** systems. He subsequently took up a Lindemann Fellowship at UC Berkeley with Don Tilley and worked as a PDRA with Mark Crimmin at Imperial College London.

Dr Mike Kelly (Oxford, 2014) also carried out his DPhil studies after first completing his Part 2 with us, and worked on ferrocenyl-derivatized systems for anion and neutral molecule detection (notably for <u>nitrous oxide</u>). He subsequently worked at the University of Hull before moving to his current position as a PDRA in the lab of Jean-Marie Basset at KAUST, Saudi Arabia. He's now a Brexile, living and working in the Netherlands.

Dr Joe Abdalla (Oxford, 2015) looked at the coordination and activation of group 13 hydrides, and cooperative **E-H bond activation** involving group 13 elements (and also managed to hold down a place in the University's second crew for the Boat Race). Joe now works in intellectual property using his scientific talents in patent protection.

Dr Rémi Tirfoin (Oxford, 2015) began his DPhil in the group after completing his BSc and MSc degrees at the University Pierre et Marie Curie with a year at the University of Ottawa with Tom Baker. He worked on anion/neutral molecule sensing by **electron deficient boranes** and subsequently took up a post-doctoral position with Christian Limberg at the Humboldt University, Berlin and now works at **BASF**.

Raihan Musa joined the group having previously studied in her native Malaysia and worked on combinatorial approaches to ferrocene-functionalized receptors based on boronic ester linkages.

Dr Lilja Kristinsdottir (Oxford, 2018) joined the group from the University of Iceland and worked on electronic and steric modification of divalent group 14 compounds using peripheral boryl substituents. Some of her work from the project can be found here.

Dr Alexa Caise (Oxford, 2018) started her DPhil in the group after previously carrying out her final year (Part 2) project with us. Her project was concerned with β -diketiminate complexes of group 13 elements and their use in small molecule activation and catalysis. Some of her published work can be found <u>here</u>.

Dr Dinh Cao Huan Do (Oxford, 2019) joined the group after having completed his Masters project with former post-doc Drasko Vidovic at NTU in Singapore. Huan worked on the development of aminofunctionalised β -diketiminate ligands ('N-nacnacs'), and in particular their synthesis and coordination

chemistry with main group elements. Some of his work can be found <u>here</u>. On leaving Oxford he returned to Singapore as a post-doc in the Kinjo group.

Dr Haoyu Niu (Oxford, 2019) was an undergraduate at Queen's College and joined the group after a final year project in physical chemistry to undertake a joint experimental/theoretical project in ligand design for main group systems. Some of the work arising from his DPhil project can be found <u>here</u>.

Dr Robert Mangan (Oxford, 2019) completed his Part 2 project in the group, before going on to complete his DPhil on cationic germanium systems for small molecule activation. Some of his work on boryl-substituted systems can be found <u>here</u>.

Dr Ying Kai Loh (Oxford, 2019) joined the group after completing his masters project as NTU Singapore with Rei Kinjo and worked on N-heterocyclic imine and N-heterocyclic boryloxy derived Main Group species. Some of his work can be found here and here. He is about to start a post-doctoral position with Guy Bertrand at UCSD.