Former Aldridge Group Members – Final Year (Part 2) Project Students

2007 – **2008**: Will Smith (Wadham), Cally Haynes (also Wadham) and David Addy (St Peter's) were the first Oxford Part 2 students in the group. Here you can find selected papers from <u>Will</u>, <u>Cally</u> and <u>Dave's</u> Part 2 projects. Cally subsequently studied for a PhD with Phil Gale (then in Southampton) and is currently <u>lecturer in organic chemistry at UCL</u>. Dave stayed in Oxford to study for his doctorate in the group.

2008 – **2009**: Mike Kelly (St Edmund Hall), Angie DiPaolo (St Catherine's) and Jan Lednik (St Anne's). Published work from <u>Mike</u>, <u>Angie</u> and <u>Jan's</u> projects. Mike subsequently stayed on with us for his DPhil.

2009 – **2010**: Phil Fitzpatrick (Queen's), Nick Phillips (Balliol), Katie Smart (Wadham) and Antonia Vanbergen (Queen's). Selected papers from <u>Phil</u>, <u>Nick</u>, <u>Katie and Antonia's</u> projects. Katie then started her PhD with <u>Sylviane Sabo-Etienne</u> in Toulouse, while Nick stayed in the group for his.

2010 – **2011**: Michael O'Neill (Queen's), Alex Rowe (also Queen's), Sian Edmonds (Jesus) and Jessica Smart (LMH). Papers from <u>Michael</u>, <u>Alex</u>, <u>Siân</u> and <u>Jess</u>. Mike then went to Cambridge for his PhD with Dr Sally Boss, was subsequently a teaching fellow in chemistry at the University of Hull, and is now Departmental Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry and <u>Associate Director of the OxICFM CDT</u> back in Oxford.

2011 – 2012: Johnny Rowles (St Anne's), Stuart Cornes (Wadham) and Paul Kaufman (Merton). Here you can find selected papers from <u>Johnny</u> and <u>Paul</u>. Paul was also awarded one of the Inorganic Chemistry Part 2 Thesis Prizes in 2012.

2012 – 2013: Josh Turner (Queen's), Jess Gilbert (St Edmund Hall), Tristan Dodson (Wadham). Published work from <u>Josh</u>, <u>Jess</u> and <u>Tristan</u>. Josh was also awarded one of the Inorganic Chemistry Part 2 Thesis Prizes in 2013.

2013 – **2014**: Alexa Caise (Somerville), James Howell (New), Peter Whight (LMH). Published work from James appeared in <u>Angewandte Chemie</u> and <u>J. Am. Chem. Soc.</u>, while work from Alexa has recently been published in <u>Nature Chem.</u> James was also awarded one of the Inorganic Chemistry Part 2 Thesis Prizes in 2014.

2014 – 2015: Matt Usher (Pembroke), Ali Knights (Jesus), and Rob Mangan (Magdalen) worked on areas ranging from <u>new stannylene/germylene systems</u> to anion-functionalized NHC ligands. Rob remained in the group to start his DPhil with us in 2015. Mao Isobe (Merton) and Dan de Rosa (LMH) worked on joint projects with the group of <u>Jose Goicoechea</u>. Dan has subsequently completed his PhD with Mike Cowley in Edinburgh.

2015 – **2016**: Nikki Oldroyd (Queen's), Tom Hood (Christ Church) and Ailsa Keyser (Magdalen) worked on projects developing new N-donor ligands for use in Main Group chemistry – borylamides in Nikki's case, expanded ring iminato ligands in Tom's, and <u>electron-rich second generation Nacnac donors in Ailsa's</u>. Ongoing collaborative work with Jose Goicoechea was taken up by Claire Williams (also from Queen's). Nikki and Tom have both stayed in the inorganic chemistry sphere – leaving Oxford to start PhDs with <u>Jan Manners</u> and <u>Adrian Chaplin</u>, respectively.

2016 – 2017: Alex Davies (St Catz) worked on the synthesis of cationic group 14 complexes for reversible bond activation chemistry. Rachel Grabiner (Balliol) worked on the chelating borylamido ligand project following on from Nikki Oldroyd. Dafydd Jones (LMH) was looking at electronically modifided Nacnac

ligands and their applications in aluminium and gallium hydride chemistry and has subsequently accepted a PhD place with <u>Cameron Jones at Monash</u>. Molly Kemp (Jesus) worked on expanded ring iminato ligands in group 14 metal chemistry.

2017 – **2018**: Andrew Gair (University College) spent his Part 2 year in Australia with <u>Cameron Jones</u> working on a collaborative project on <u>Mg(I) compounds and their interactions with alkenes</u>, Andreas Heilmann (Queen's) worked on <u>small molecule activation by aluminyl and related systems</u> and was awarded the Inorganic Chemistry Thesis Prize for his thesis. Jenny Soderman (Christ Church) worked on the development of N-containing xanthene backbones for phosphine and FLP systems. Cameron Royle (St Anne's) worked on the development of ligand frameworks for the synthesis of bimetallic d-/p-block metal systems. He is currently working on his doctorate with the <u>Weller group in York</u>.

2018 – **2019**: Lewis Wales (St Anne's) worked on the derivatization of carbene/borane adducts for the development of ¹⁸F PET tags, Aggy Crumpton (Queen's) and Megan Edwards (Wadham) both won Inorganic Chemistry thesis prizes for their work on reversible tin catenation and gallium nucleophiles, respectively. Kieran Porteous (Keble) worked on the <u>reaction chemistry of a B=O double bond</u>. Lewis and Aggy have stayed in Oxford with us for doctoral studies as part of the <u>OxICFM CDT</u>.

2019 – **2020**: Liam Griffin (Jesus) and Marcus Yu (Pembroke) both worked on aspects of pincer-stabilized low valent Ge and Sn chemistry; Liam won the Inorganic Chemistry Thesis Prize for his work on digermynes and distannynes. Artemis Saddington (St John's) worked on the development and reaction chemistry of molecular gallium imides formed from a gallium nucleophile. Liam has stayed in Oxford as part of the 2020 cohort of the OXICFM CDT.