Former Aldridge Group Members – Post-Doctoral Research Associates

Dr Deborah Kays (Cardiff) and **Dr Chris Bresner** (Cardiff, Oxford) – both were <u>former students</u> who completed their doctoral work in the group in Cardiff. Debs is now <u>Professor of Chemistry at Nottingham</u> <u>University</u>.

Dr Matt Hargreaves (Cardiff). Matt, along with Tom Tatchell was involved with aspects of an **EPSRC** <u>funded project on chemical sensors</u>.

Dr Tom Tatchell (Cardiff). Tom worked in conjunction with the group of <u>lan Fallis</u> on sensor systems and made a significant contribution to a recent <u>patent</u> in the area. Tom now works as Education and Students Manager for the <u>Cardiff School of Chemistry</u>.

Dr Timo Gans-Eichler (Cardiff) and **Dr Richard Rose** (Cardiff) both worked on a joint EPSRC-funded project with Cameron Jones. Some of their work can be found here and here.

Dr Dragoslav (Drasko) Vidovic (Oxford) joined the group in 2007 having completed his PhD studies with the late Alan Cowley at the University of Texas at Austin. Drasko worked in the group as an EPSRC-funded research associate for three years on <u>Group 13 element chemistry</u>, before leaving to take up a faculty position at NTU, Singapore in November 2010. More recently he joined the <u>chemistry faculty at Monash</u> <u>University</u> in Australia.

Dr Christina Tang (Oxford) joined the group in May 2007, and worked on aspects of the transition metal mediated <u>dehydrogenation of ammonia borane</u> and related amine derivatives. In June 2011 she left the group to take up a faculty position at Hong Kong Baptist University.

Dr Juan Urbano (Oxford) joined the group in March 2009 after completing his PhD studies with Pedro Pérez at the University of Huelva, and returned to Spain to take up a faculty position in the same institution in October 2010. Aspects of his work are to be found <u>here</u> and <u>here</u>.

Dr Ian Morgan (Oxford) joined the group in 2008 working for 6 months in Oxford, before continuing on a joint project with <u>Ian Fallis</u> in Cardiff. Ian contributed much to the <u>ferrocene-based detection project</u> and moved on to take up a position as a research fellow in the Cardiff School of Chemistry. More recently he has been working as a company director back in South Wales.

Dr Inke Siewert (Oxford) received both of her degrees from the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Her PhD research in the group of <u>Christian Limberg</u> was focused on dioxygen activation with bioinspired monoand dinuclear iron complexes. From Sept 2009 until Dec 2011 she worked in the group as a DFG postdoctoral fellow, investigating <u>multidentate Lewis acids</u> for the sensing of environmentally relevant anions. Recently she was elevated to the position of W2-Professor in Inorganic Chemistry at the Georg-August-University <u>Göttingen</u>.

Dr Jochen Niemeyer (Oxford) joined the group in March 2010 from <u>Gerhard Erker's</u> group in Münster. Jochen's post-doctoral stay in the group (funded by the DFG) focussed on metal borylene chemistry, including extended conjugated systems published in <u>Angew. Chem</u>. Jochen now has his own research group at the <u>University of Duisberg-Essen</u> looking at organo-catalysis and chemical sensing.

Dr Joshua Bates (Oxford) completed his PhD studies with <u>Derek Gates</u> at the University of British Columbia on the reactivity of phosphaalkenes. From 2011-2013 he was an NSERC-funded post-doctoral

research associate <u>contributing</u> computationally to a range of projects in the group. Josh now holds a faculty teaching position back in his native Canada.

Dr René Frank (Oxford) joined the group in early 2013 on a joint project with <u>Mike Mingos</u> funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung. He had previously completed his PhD with <u>Prof Eva Hey-Hawkins</u> in Leipzig, and worked on novel approaches to <u>transition metal boryl systems</u>. René has recently been establishing his <u>own research group</u> at TU Braunschweig.

Dr Evgeny Kolychev (Oxford) joined the group in May 2014 as a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow and is working on application of N-heterocyclic boryl ligands for design of Main Group element complexes with transition metal reactivity. Evgeny was born in Orsk, Russia and studied chemistry at Moscow State University, were he received his PhD degree in 2011. Before coming to Oxford Evgeny worked with <u>Matthias Tamm</u> at TU Braunschweig (2011-2014).

Dr Arnab Rit (Oxford) earned his PhD from WWU Münster, Germany working on complexes of poly-NHC ligands with <u>Ekke Hahn</u>. After working as a postdoctoral fellow with <u>Jun Okuda</u> on the reactivity of zinc hydride complexes, Arnab joined the group as a Marie Curie postdoctoral fellow in June 2014. He worked on the application of N-heterocyclic boryl/carbene complexes of group 14 elements for small molecule activation. Notably, his work on the first example of stable vinylidene compound was published in <u>Nature</u> <u>Chemistry</u>. Arnad is now on the chemistry faculty at <u>IIT Madras</u>.

Dr Jesus Campos (Oxford) obtained his PhD from Universidad de Sevilla (2012), followed by a postdoctoral period with Bob Crabtree at Yale University (2012-14). Jesus joined the group to enjoy exploring the wonders of boryl ligands applied to catalysis using Main Group and First-Row Transition metals and was instrumental in developing a new <u>bora-Negichi methodology</u> for C-B bond formation. Jesus is now a rising star on the <u>faculty in Sevilla</u> and visited Oxford for a further two months in the summer of 2017.

Dr Zhenbo Mo (Oxford) completed his postgraduate studies at the Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences with <u>Liang Deng</u> creating low-valent coordinatively unsaturated cobalt complexes for small-molecule activation and catalysis. His research in the Aldridge group focused on the use of FLPs in <u>reversible molecule capture/activation</u> and <u>catalysis</u>.

Dr Christian Sindlinger (Oxford) joined the group on a **Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship** from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in early 2016, having completed his PhD studies in Tubingen with <u>Lars Wesemann</u>. He contributed to some of <u>our studies on E-H bonds activation</u> and recently returned to Germany to begin <u>his own research group</u> in Göttingen.

Dr Surendar Karwasara (Oxford) spent a year in the group on a SERB fellowship from his native India, and began the work on Main Group carbonyl complexes (which we hope to report very soon!)

Dr Maria Ángeles Fuentes (Oxford) joined the group after completing her doctoral studies with Rab Mulvey in Strathclyde, and worked on an EPSRC Catalysis Hub funded project on <u>frustrated Lewis pairs</u>. She returned to her native Spain in 2019, after winning winning a young investigator award from the Academy of Science, Art and Letters at the University Huelva.

Dr Lorenzo Piola (Oxford) also worked on the FLP project, joining us in Oxford for four months after completing his doctorate with **Paul Kamer** (then of the University of St Andrews).

Dr Jamie Hicks (Oxford) joined the group on a joint project with the Goicoechea group having completed

his PhD with <u>Cameron Jones</u> at Monash University. He established the synthetic side of the aluminyl project during his time in Oxford and subsequently won an <u>ARC DECRA fellowship</u> to return down under to ANU. Examples of his work in the group can be found <u>here</u> and <u>here</u>.

Dr Petra Vasko (Oxford) joined the group having completed her doctorate with Heikki Tuononen and Phil Power, and won fellowships from the Magnus Ehrnrooth foundation and Finnish Academy to support her sat in Oxford. She worked on both <u>experimental</u> and <u>quantum chemical studies</u> of bond activation during her time in the group, and has subsequently returned to Finland to pursue <u>her independent research interests</u>.